Delete user profile Windows 10
In the last few days, we have already shown how to add a user in Windows 10, even if you do not want to open a Microsoft account. But what do you do if you no longer need the accounts you created? Either you leave them in place, but this makes the login screen fuller than it needs to be. If you would like to clean up your computer, you should delete the user profile from Windows 10. We will show you how to do this and what happens to the user’s data. Before doing so, however, you should inform the respective user and have a backup made of important data. In this day and age, many beautiful memories are lost far too quickly due to deletion processes on computers.
What happens to the data when I remove a user on Windows 10?
The good news first: Most data will not be lost. Data that is in favorites, music, pictures and video can be transferred if desired. During the deletion process, this is explicitly asked for. Nevertheless, we think that a proper back-up is still worthwhile, because this is the only way to have absolute security. In any case, it should be noted that mails are not included in this backup process. If important business mail traffic has taken place via the user, you should take a closer look beforehand.
- Enter “Control Panel” in the search
- Click on “Change account type” under “User accounts”
- Select the user you want to delete
- Click on “Delete account”
- Read the note carefully and decide whether to delete or keep this data. If you want to keep the files, they will be saved on the Dekstop of the user you are currently logged in with
- Confirm the account deletion
Removing a user in Windows 10 is really fast, maybe too fast. You should be aware of the fact that you can quickly lose important data if you rush through the process. We therefore recommend that you log in to the other user again and look through all the data. If there is nothing important, you can still delete the user quickly.
Links with * are affiliate links. By purchasing via this link we receive a part of the purchase price as commission without any additional costs for you. This helps us to expand the offers available here for you! Thank you!