Thunderbird auto delete trash | Tutorial

Thunderbird auto delete trash

Thunderbird auto delete trash

Some people just like it especially neat. Uninteresting messages go to the trash in Thunderbird and are also deleted completely. But how can you simplify this process? Today we show you how to auto delete trash in Thunderbird. This takes one step away from you that you don’t have to do anymore. So you are on the best way to even more efficiency. And actually, the setting is easy to make. It’s more about knowing that it exists and how to find it in the end.

Not for the faint of heart!

The function is actually very practical. However, it is not suitable if you are often dissatisfied with your decisions and want to retrieve an old message from the Recycle Bin. Since the recycle bin is emptied when Thunderbird is closed, there is no possibility to restore it. Therefore, one should be able to objectively assess oneself and determine whether this is a risk to one’s work.

Step-by-step instructions:

  • Open Thunderbird
  • Click on the three bars in the upper right corner
  • Select “Account Settings”
    Go to “Server settings” for the desired mailbox
  • In the section “Message Storage” check the box “Empty trash on exit”
  • Done!

At the end it should be mentioned that the function is not generally activated for all mail accounts, but only for the selected e-mail address! Therefore, if you want to use the function for all your mail addresses, you have to set it separately for each of them. But even this should not be a problem if you have understood the procedure. We hope that we could help you with this tutorial. If you have further questions, please have a look at our other Thunderbird tutorials!


Video tutorial:

Links with * are affiliate links. By purchasing via this link we receive a part of the purchase price as commission without any additional costs for you. This helps us to expand the offers available here for you! Thank you!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply